Does Affirm report to credit bureaus?
Yes — but only to two of the three. Affirm reports its buy-now-pay-later loans to Experian and TransUnion. It does not report to Equifax. That single fact is the most useful thing on this page, and almost every search result about it leaves it out.
Based on Affirm’s own investor statements and its joint announcements with Experian and TransUnion. Checked 7 October 2026.
The reporting schedule, confirmed
Affirm did not always report everything, so older blog posts on this question are wrong in a specific and damaging way.
| Period | Pay in 4 and short instalments | Longer monthly loans |
|---|---|---|
| Before 2025 | Not reported | Monthly instalments were reported |
| From 1 April 2025 | Reported to Experian | Reported to Experian |
| From 1 May 2025 | Reported to TransUnion | Reported to TransUnion |
| Any date, including today | Never reported to Equifax | Never reported to Equifax |
So if you are relying on a guide that says “Pay in 4 never appears on your credit report”, it was true before 2025 and is not true now.
Two things almost everyone gets wrong
- “Paying Affirm on time builds your credit.” Affirm states that “paying Affirm back on time or early doesn’t raise your score today” and that “missing Affirm payments doesn’t lower your credit score today.” The detail is visible to you in your own Experian and TransUnion files, but not to lenders deciding your mortgage, auto loan or other credit.
- “The Affirm card is a credit card.” It is not. The Affirm Card is a Visa debit card issued by Evolve Bank & Trust or Stride Bank, and the Affirm Money account is held at Cross River Bank. A debit card is not reported the way a credit account is.
How to dispute an Affirm entry
It is an ordinary FCRA dispute — there is no special process for buy-now-pay-later loans. The FTC’s guidance is the same process you would use for any entry.
- Dispute with the bureau that shows it — Experian and/or TransUnion, not Equifax. The addresses, including the ZIP codes each one publishes, are on our bureau dispute address page.
- Send certified mail with a return receipt. The 30-day investigation clock starts when the bureau receives your letter, not when you post it.
- Dispute with Affirm directly too, at the address on your report or in your Affirm account. They must investigate and report back to the bureaus.
- Attach your proof — the Affirm payment history, and any receipt or statement showing the loan was settled.
Other BNPL providers
Klarna says it shares repayment data for its Monthly Pay over time product with TransUnion and Experian, and says it does not share data for Pay in 4, Pay in 30 or Klarna Card activity. Its help page carries no visible date, and a trade report describes its reporting more narrowly, so treat this as indicative rather than settled.
For Afterpay, PayPal Pay Later, Apple Pay Later, Zip, Sezzle and Atome we could not find a reliable US source stating whether they report to the bureaus. Rather than fill this table with guesses from other people’s blog posts, we are leaving them out. If one of those appears on your report, the dispute route is identical — dispute it with the bureau showing it.
About the regulatory story you may have read
In May 2024 the CFPB issued an interpretive rule about buy-now-pay-later products and Regulation Z. That rule was withdrawn on 12 May 2025 (90 Fed. Reg. 20084) — the Bureau said the guidance “should not be enforced or otherwise relied upon” while it reviewed it. Any page telling you the 2024 BNPL rule is current law is out of date. In any case that rule concerned disclosure duties, not credit reporting, so it never governed whether these loans are reported.
Where to send the dispute
Mail addresses for all three bureaus, and what to do if a letter comes back: the verified bureau dispute addresses. Already gone past the bureau? Where to file by state.
The free composer gives you 3 letters a month. No account, and nothing you type leaves your browser.
Sources
- Affirm — “People deserve credit for managing their money responsibly” (25 Nov 2025): reporting to Experian and TransUnion only; repayment not affecting scores.
- Affirm + Experian (19 Mar 2025) and Affirm + TransUnion (22 Apr 2025): the 1 April and 1 May start dates.
- Affirm — the Affirm Card is a Visa debit card.
- 90 Fed. Reg. 20084 — withdrawal of the 2024 BNPL interpretive rule, applicable 12 May 2025.
- FTC — disputing errors on your credit reports: the dispute process and the 30-day window.