Reference · Buy now, pay later

Does Afterpay report to credit bureaus?

Afterpay says it does not. Its own help page states that “Afterpay does not currently report to credit bureaus in the United States,” and its misconceptions page says Afterpay does not report payment activity to credit bureaus. The important part of the answer is the scope: that statement is about its buy-now-pay-later payments, and it does not clearly cover every Afterpay and Cash App product. Two of those are marked not verified below.

Last checked 15 October 2026. Sources: Afterpay’s own US help centre and US misconceptions page (both opened today; neither carries a visible publication date), Afterpay’s own US site footer for the entity details, the CFPB consumer page, and two trade reports. Reporting policies change without notice — confirm with Afterpay before you rely on any cell in the table.

The one sentence that matters: “Afterpay Buy now, Pay Later payments will not affect your credit score. Afterpay does not currently report to credit bureaus in the United States, and we won’t until we see concrete evidence that BNPL data reflecting responsible payment behavior will help, not hurt, the credit scores of our customers.” That is Afterpay’s own wording, not ours.

The reporting matrix

Rows are Afterpay and Block products. Each cell comes from a source we opened, or it reads not verified.

Product Equifax Experian TransUnion Credit check? From when
Pay in 4 (standard BNPL) Not reported Not reported Not reported Soft check at sign-up No date published
Pay in full Not reported Not reported Not reported — No date published
Pay Monthly (loan product) not verified not verified not verified Yes — Afterpay states it runs a credit check for Pay Monthly not verified
Afterpay Card not verified not verified not verified not verified not verified
Afterpay on Cash App not verified not verified not verified Cash App states a soft check for Pay Monthly (unopened) not verified

The Not reported cells are Afterpay’s own general statement, not a product-by-product confirmation. Afterpay never published a per-product table, and we did not manufacture one from other people’s blog posts.

Three things worth separating

  • Reporting is not scoring, and a credit check is not reporting. Afterpay states it may run a soft credit check when a new customer first signs up, and states it will also run a credit check if you use the Pay Monthly option. Afterpay adds that soft checks “may or may not be recorded in credit reports, depending on the credit bureau.” An inquiry and a reported loan are two different things.
  • “Working with the credit reporting agencies” is not reporting. Afterpay states it “is currently working with others in industry and the credit reporting agencies to determine how best to report BNPL loans in a way that does not negatively impact the consumer’s credit score.” That is future design work. Read it as intent, not as a live data feed.
  • The no-reporting promise is conditional, not permanent. Afterpay ties it to seeing “concrete evidence” that BNPL data would help rather than hurt scores. FICO and Vantage Score have both been building models that ingest BNPL data, so the condition could be met. Re-check this page rather than trusting a 2024 answer.
In August 2025 Juan Hernandez, head of credit and underwriting at Block (Afterpay’s parent), said the company would not share loan data with credit bureaus until it knew customers would not be unfairly penalised. That is consistent with what Afterpay still publishes on its own site today.

Which entity you are dealing with

  • Afterpay US Services, LLC, NMLS ID 1870854, is the entity named in the footer of Afterpay’s US site.
  • First Electronic Bank underwrites and issues loans that carry a finance fee, per Afterpay’s own footer. A product with a finance fee is not the same product as a no-fee Pay in 4 instalment plan.
  • Pay in 4 loans without a finance fee to California residents are made or arranged under a California Finance Lenders Law licence. State-level lending regimes differ, and a product licensed in one state is not automatically identical elsewhere.

If something Afterpay-related is on your report anyway

The most likely explanation is not Afterpay reporting. It is a debt collector. The CFPB states plainly that most BNPL lenders do not report payment history, but that failure to repay may be reported by a debt collector. A collector is a separate furnisher, and the entry will usually be in the collector’s name.

If that happens, the route is the same as for any other furnisher. This is your own right under the FCRA, and you exercise it. We provide software you own; we are not a law firm, not a credit repair company, and we cannot tell you what any company will decide.

  1. Find out who actually furnished it. The furnisher name is printed on the report entry, and it may not be Afterpay.
  2. Dispute with the bureau online first. All three bureaus lead with an online dispute path; mail is the documented secondary. Addresses are on the verified bureau dispute addresses page.
  3. Use the 30-day clock. Under 15 U.S.C. §1681i(a)(1)(A) the bureau must investigate within 30 days, free of charge, with up to 15 additional days if it notifies you and explains why. If the information is inaccurate or incomplete, the furnisher must correct what it reported to all three nationwide bureaus — a correction, not a guaranteed deletion.
  4. The burden of proof is the furnisher’s. Under 15 U.S.C. §1681i(a)(5)(B)(i), deleted information may not return unless the furnisher certifies it is complete and accurate.
  5. If it is a charge-off, the clock is seven years from 180 days after the first delinquency, under 15 U.S.C. §1681c(a)(4) and §1681c(c)(1). The common “four years” figure is a myth.

Common questions

Does Afterpay report to credit bureaus?

Afterpay states it does not. Its help page says Afterpay does not currently report to credit bureaus in the United States, and its misconceptions page says Afterpay does not report payment activity to credit bureaus.

Does Afterpay do a credit check?

Yes, a soft credit check. Afterpay states it may run a soft credit check for new customers when they first sign up, and states it will also do a credit check if you use the Pay Monthly option. It states soft credit checks do not affect credit scores.

Does After Pay in 4 affect my credit score?

Per Afterpay, no. Afterpay states that on-time payments do not boost credit scores at the credit bureaus and that missed payments typically do not harm them either.

Is Afterpay working with the credit bureaus?

Yes, but that is not the same as reporting. Afterpay states it is working with others in the industry and with the credit reporting agencies to determine how best to report BNPL loans in a way that does not negatively impact consumers. That describes future design work, not current reporting.

I missed Afterpay payments and an account appeared anyway. Why?

Most likely a debt collector. The CFPB states that most BNPL lenders do not report payment history, but that failure to repay may be reported by a debt collector. A collection account is a separate furnisher with its own obligations. Our debt validation letter is the right starting point for that case.

Where to send the dispute

Mail addresses for all three bureaus are on the verified bureau dispute addresses page. Ready-made blocks are on dispute letter templates, and the composer builds one in your browser.

Write your dispute letter

The free composer gives you 3 letters a month. No account, and nothing you type leaves your browser.

Related reading

Sources

  • Afterpay US Help — “Does Afterpay conduct credit checks?” (opened 15 Oct 2026; no visible date): the soft check at sign-up, the Pay Monthly credit check, and the statement that Afterpay does not currently report to credit bureaus in the United States.
  • Afterpay — “Setting the record straight” (opened 15 Oct 2026; no visible date, cites a December 2025 Senate response so it was updated after that): that Afterpay does not report payment activity to credit bureaus, and that it is working with the credit reporting agencies on how to report.
  • Afterpay US site footer, both pages above: Afterpay US Services, LLC, NMLS ID 1870854; loans with a finance fee underwritten and issued by First Electronic Bank; California Finance Lenders Law licence for no-fee Pay in 4 to California residents.
  • CFPB — “Will a Buy Now, Pay Later (BNPL) loan impact my credit scores?” (last reviewed 30 Aug 2024): most BNPL lenders do not report payment history, but failure to repay may be reported by a debt collector.
  • PYMNTS (5 Aug 2025): Afterpay and Block’s stated position on withholding BNPL data from the bureaus.
  • 15 U.S.C. §1681i(a)(1)(A), §1681i(a)(5)(B)(i), §1681c(a)(4), §1681c(c)(1) — the dispute clock, the burden of proof, and the seven-year charge-off rule.
DisputeDesk is software, not a law firm. We do not provide legal advice, credit repair or debt settlement, and we cannot promise any result or tell you what a bureau or Afterpay will decide. Reporting policies change without notice — confirm with the provider before you act on any cell above. This page was last checked on 15 October 2026.