Reference · Buy now, pay later

Does Klarna report to credit bureaus?

Yes — but for one product only. Klarna states that it shares information about loans and your repayment activity for the Monthly Pay over time product with TransUnion and Experian. It states that it does not share information with credit bureaus about Pay in 4, Pay in 30, Pay in full purchases or Klarna Card activity. Most people searching this question are looking at their Pay in 4 history and finding nothing, which is the correct result.

Last checked 15 October 2026. Sources: Klarna’s own US help page and Klarna’s US credit account agreement (both opened today, neither carries a visible publication date), the CFPB consumer page, and two trade reports. Reporting policies change without notice — confirm with Klarna before you rely on any cell in the table below.

If you are here because Klarna did not show up: check TransUnion and Experian, not Equifax. Klarna’s wording is that data “is shared with credit bureaus — TransUnion and Experian.” An entry will not appear on an Equifax file, and its absence there does not by itself mean anything is wrong.

The reporting matrix

Each row is a Klarna product. Every cell is either taken from what Klarna itself published, or it is marked not verified. We would rather leave a cell empty than fill it with a plausible guess.

Product Equifax Experian TransUnion Which entity From when
Monthly Pay over time not verified — not named by Klarna Reported Reported Issued by WebBank in partnership with Klarna. Furnisher of record not verified. TransUnion: 1 Nov 2024 per American Banker. Experian: not verified.
Pay in 4 Not reported Not reported Not reported — Not applicable
Pay in 30 Not reported Not reported Not reported — Not applicable
Pay in full Not reported Not reported Not reported — Not applicable
Klarna Card Not reported Not reported Not reported — Not applicable

The four Not reported rows come from Klarna’s own explicit list of what it does not share: “Pay in full purchases, Pay in 4 payments, Pay in 30 payments, Klarna Card activity.” Those are direct quotations of a provider policy, not inferences.

Which legal entity is actually involved

This is the part most blog posts get wrong, so we checked the US documents rather than the corporate brand name.

  • WebBank is the lender. Klarna’s US help page says the Pay over time product “is issued by WebBank in partnership with Klarna.” Klarna’s US credit account agreement defines “we, us and our” as WebBank and calls it “the lender of your Klarna Credit account.”
  • Klarna Inc. is the US Klarna entity. The same agreement describes Klarna Inc., located in Columbus, Ohio, as having developed Klarna Credit and providing services for WebBank — processing transactions, keeping records, billing and customer service.
  • Klarna Bank AB does not appear in either US document. We found no opened source showing Klarna Bank AB as the US entity furnishing to Equifax, Experian or TransUnion. If a page tells you Klarna Bank AB is reporting your US file, treat it as unproven.
What we could not verify. Klarna’s US agreement authorises reporting to credit reporting agencies on behalf of “us and/or Klarna Inc.”, and Klarna’s help page names TransUnion and Experian. But neither document names the furnisher of record for the Monthly Pay over time product specifically, so that cell stays not verified. The practical answer is on your report itself: the furnisher name is printed on the entry.

When did this start, and why do old answers disagree

The policy has genuinely changed, and most of the disagreement on the web is a timing problem rather than a factual one.

  • Klarna said the opposite in 2024. In May 2024 Klarna published a piece titled “Why Klarna does not report BNPL payments to US credit bureaus,” arguing the bureaus’ models could not handle BNPL data responsibly. Guidance from that era is out of date for term loans.
  • Reporting to TransUnion began 1 November 2024, according to American Banker, for term loan data: applications, consummation, on-time payments, overdue payments and defaults.
  • Klarna said in August 2025 that it “report[s] our term loans in the U.S., making it visible to consumers but excluded from credit scores.”
One conflict we could not resolve, stated plainly. American Banker named only TransUnion for Klarna in April 2025. Klarna’s own help page, opened today, names TransUnion and Experian. The most likely explanation is that Klarna added Experian after April 2025, but no opened source confirms that or dates it. So the Experian start date is not verified, and Klarna’s help page carries no publication date of its own. Treat the two-bureau answer as current-as-of-15-October-2026 and re-check it.

What “reported” does and does not mean today

Reporting and scoring are two different things, and conflating them causes most of the alarm on this topic. Klarna states that the shared data will not impact your score as it is only visible to you, and that other institutions are not currently able to view the payment history on your Pay over time loans through Klarna. In other words the entry exists on your own file; it is not yet a lending input.

The CFPB adds the part that matters most for anyone with an unpaid balance: most BNPL lenders do not report payment history, but failure to repay may be reported by a debt collector. A collection account is a different furnisher with different obligations, and it is the route most likely to reach all three bureaus.

If a Klarna entry on your report is wrong

This is your own right under the Fair Credit Reporting Act, and you exercise it. We provide software you own to help you write it; we are not a law firm, not a credit repair company, and we cannot tell you what any company will decide.

  1. Pull your free reports from all three bureaus at AnnualCreditReport.com and find the Klarna entry. Note which bureau carries it.
  2. Dispute with that bureau online first. All three bureaus lead with an online dispute path; mail is the documented secondary. The addresses are on our verified bureau dispute address page.
  3. Use the 30-day clock. Under 15 U.S.C. §1681i(a)(1)(A) the bureau must investigate your dispute within 30 days and do so free of charge, with up to 15 further days if it notifies you and explains why. If the information is inaccurate or incomplete, the furnisher must correct what it reported to all three nationwide bureaus — that is a correction, not a promise of deletion.
  4. The burden of proof sits with the furnisher. Under 15 U.S.C. §1681i(a)(5)(B)(i), information may not be restored after deletion unless the furnisher certifies it is complete and accurate.
  5. If it is a charge-off, the clock is seven years. Under 15 U.S.C. §1681c(a)(4) a charge-off stays on a report for seven years, with the clock starting 180 days after the first delinquency under §1681c(c)(1). The widely repeated “four years” figure is a myth — no enacted federal law shortens it.

Common questions

Does Klarna report to credit bureaus in the US?

Yes, but only for one product. Klarna states that it shares information about loans and your repayment activity for its Monthly Pay over time product with TransUnion and Experian. Klarna states it does not share information with credit bureaus about Pay in full purchases, Pay in 4 payments, Pay in 30 payments or Klarna Card activity.

Does Klarna report Pay in 4?

No. Klarna lists Pay in 4 among the products it does not share information about with credit bureaus. It also does not report Pay in 30, Pay in full purchases or Klarna Card activity.

Does Klarna Bank AB report to US credit bureaus?

We could not verify that it does. Klarna Bank AB does not appear in the US credit account agreement we opened. The US entities named there are WebBank, which is the lender, and Klarna Inc. in Columbus, Ohio, which developed the product and provides services for WebBank.

Does reporting a Klarna loan change my credit score?

Not today, per Klarna. Klarna states the shared data will not impact your score as it is only visible to you, and that other institutions are not currently able to view the payment history on your Pay over time loans through Klarna.

An unpaid Klarna loan went to collections. Does that get reported?

Possibly. The CFPB states that most BNPL lenders do not report payment history, but that failure to repay may be reported by a debt collector. A debt collector is a separate furnisher with its own obligations under the FCRA. That case is covered on our collection agency dispute page.

Where to send the dispute

Mail addresses for all three bureaus are on the verified bureau dispute addresses page. Ready-made letter blocks are on dispute letter templates, and the composer builds one in your browser. If the debt has moved to a collector, start with the debt validation letter instead — validation is about proving the debt is yours.

Write your dispute letter

The free composer gives you 3 letters a month. No account, and nothing you type leaves your browser.

Related reading

Sources

  • Klarna US Help — “Does Klarna report to credit bureaus?” (opened 15 Oct 2026; no visible date): the product list, the two bureaus, and that the Pay over time product is issued by WebBank in partnership with Klarna.
  • Klarna US credit account agreement, §23 (opened 15 Oct 2026): WebBank as lender, Klarna Inc. of Columbus, Ohio, authorisation to report to credit reporting agencies, and the dispute address Klarna Credit Customer Service, P.O. Box 8116, Columbus, OH 43201.
  • CFPB — “Will a Buy Now, Pay Later (BNPL) loan impact my credit scores?” (last reviewed 30 Aug 2024): most BNPL lenders do not report payment history, but failure to repay may be reported by a debt collector.
  • American Banker (Joey Pizzolato, 15 Apr 2025): Klarna began reporting term loan data to TransUnion on 1 Nov 2024; Pay in 4 not reported; Equifax states Pay-in-4 loans are not being reported to it today.
  • PYMNTS (5 Aug 2025), quoting a Klarna spokesperson: Klarna reports its US term loans “making it visible to consumers but excluded from credit scores.”
  • 15 U.S.C. §1681i(a)(1)(A), §1681i(a)(5)(B)(i), §1681c(a)(4), §1681c(c)(1) — the dispute clock, the burden of proof, and the seven-year charge-off rule.
DisputeDesk is software, not a law firm. We do not provide legal advice, credit repair or debt settlement, and we cannot promise any result or tell you what a bureau or Klarna will decide. Reporting policies change without notice — confirm with the provider before you act on any cell above. This page was last checked on 15 October 2026.